Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer


The Hawks scored three second-half goals to capture the programs tenth OCAA indoor soccer championship.

VAUGHAN, Ont – For the third straight season, the Humber women's indoor soccer program captured the provincial title, coming from behind to beat the Fanshawe Falcons, 4-2.

This was the Hawks all-time leading tenth OCAA Womnen's Indoor Soccer gold medal, and their seventeenth overall. As well, this is the third time that the Humber squad has registered back-to-back-to-back title wins. 

In the early minutes of the opening half, Fanshawe converted a penalty kick to give the Falcons a 1-0 lead.

All-star Giulia Zanardi responded for the Hawks, blasting home the equalizer with 6:42 remaining in the frame. Claudia Piazza intercepted a Fanshawe pass and found a streaking Zanardi in the box, scoring her fifth goal of the tournament. 

Minutes later, the Falcons saw a great scoring chance thwarted by a diving Vanessa Fiore to keep the score tied.

With time about to expire, Fanshawe capitalized on Humber's defensive miscue and went into the break leading, 2-1.

Humber began the second half pressing, breaking down Fanshawe's defence and generating goal scoring opportunities. With 11:32 remaining in the championship match, the Hawks finally found the equalizer off the boot of Claudia Piazza. Off of a corner kick, Stephanie Gutierrez found Piazza inside the box, going bar down to tie the game, 2-2.

Less than two minutes later, Zanardi and Piazza pulled off a beautiful give-and-go, with Piazza recording her second tally of the match and her fourth of the day.

Shaniece Bennett sealed the victory for the Hawks, dribbling through three defenders and drilling home a strike to the back of the net.

Humber's halftime adjustments by head coach Mauro Ongaro paid dividends and the Hawks responded with three unanswered goals to secure the programs tenth provincial title.

Keeper Vanessa Fiore and Giulia Zanardi were named to the championship all-star team, while Claudia Piazza was named the championship MVP.