Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer


Tournament Canadian University/College Championship
Host UFV Cascades
Date May 29 - June 1
Time All Day
Live Stats Click Here
Rounds Four
Course Chilliwack Golf Club

CHILLIWACK, B.C. -- The Humber men's and women's golf teams are heading to British Columbia to compete in the 16th annual Canadian University/College Championship, May 29 to June 1 at Chilliwack Golf Club. The event is Canada's most prestigious post-secondary golf championship, as it brings together the top teams from a variety of university and collegiate leagues from coast to coast.

Last Time Out
The men's team posted a first-place finish (617, +41) win at the NCAA Mercyhurst Invitational in April.  Connor Watt captured the individual title, shooting three-over par to win by four strokes. Teammate Luke McLean, who was tied for first after day one, finished in a tie for fourth. Mike Vance shot a final round of 76 to finish in a tie for sixth with teammate Sean O'Hara.

This will be the first tournament of 2018 for the women's team, who captured the 2017 OCAA provincial championship in October. Sheila McKeen was named a CCAA All-Canadian after winning the individual silver medal. Teammate Jordon Newlands captured the individual bronze medal for Humber.

Last Year
At Tangle Creek Golf and Country Club in Barrie, the men's program finished eighth, missing out on a top-five finish by 18 strokes.  Despite cold temperatures and wind gusts reaching as high as 50 kilometres per hour, the Hawks finished the final day with the lowest team total at 310.

The Team
Led by OCAA coach of the year Nick Trichillo, the Humber's men's team will be comprised of Conner Watt, Luke McLean, Michael Vance, Cameron Brennan, and Cameron Griffin. The top-four scores will count towards the team total.

The women's team will be comprised of Sheila McKeen, Sonia Nagindas, and Jordon Newlands and will be coached by Matt Hoffman. All three scores will count to the team total.

The Course
Established in 1958, Chilliwack Golf Club is regarded as one of the finest facilities in the province of British Columbia. The par-72 layout has played host to every major provincial championship – and always to rave reviews. In 2013, it was recognized as the PGA of BC's Facility of the Year.

In 2015, Chilliwack hosted the CCAA national championship and Sonia Nagindas led the women's team to the national title and captured the individual bronze.

Tournament History
Under the guidance of head coach Ray Chateau, the men's program captured the 2004 Canadian University/College Championship at the Wyldewood Golf Club in Hornby, Ont. Brad Kerfoot captured the individual gold medal for Humber.

In 2007, the team comprised of Lee French, Mike Zizek, Ryan Willoughby, James Castle, and Matt Sloan would shoot four consecutive rounds under par (286, 287, 277, 284) and won the tournament with a record score of 18-under par.

Again in 2011, the Hawks went on to capture the team title, winning by 18 shots over the University of British Columbia.

Maggie Trainor captured the women's individual title in 2009, becoming the first OCAA student-athlete to complete the feat.